Posted by: manyblessings | 09/18/08

So much to talk about…

on the foster-adopt front.

I have been in major communication with our social worker. She is very helpful and hopefully not annoyed by my numerous calls. The times they have set up for the classes will just not work for us, so we’re going to have to do some piecemeal attendance here in our county and in the next county north of us in order to finish everything in a timely manner. It looks as if we’ll have all of the classes completed by mid-November, though, so that’s better than nothing!

We still have a lot of paperwork to do. I have been sending things in as I complete them. Poor E must think we’re getting a mortgage the number of times I’ve asked for his John Hancock today. We are going to get our fingerprints sometime next week, which is kind of exciting in a weird sort of way. 🙂

Today I did something that many will probably think was crazy… or maybe not. When all the kids were resting this afternoon I looked out my kitchen window and noticed a yard sale a few houses away. I decided to take a walk over (E was home) and see what they had. They had quite a few baby boy clothes, all too small for N but still in really, really good condition. So I bought a few things… They were all cheap. Gotta love a garage sale. I’ll be hitting up the resale shop I usually go to pretty soon as well. They don’t have as much good stuff for baby boys over 18 months or so, but their baby stuff is always really nice and there’s a lot of it.

So I guess given this isn’t having a baby the way we usually have, this week I’m getting as close to “WOW! We’re pregnant!” as I’m going to get. 🙂


Here’s a related funny I read back before we started this process:

Have you ever noticed that you hear all the time about “accidental” pregnancies, but never about couples who experience “accidental”adoptions?

Can you imagine:

Honey, sit down. I have some news for you.

What is it?

Well, I don’t know how to say this, so I’ll just come out with it. I went out to the mailbox today and … well, we got an I-171H.

A what?!? An I171H? As in, we’re going to have another baby?!?

It looks that way.

But how? We’ve been so careful! I put away all the blank I600A forms. Didn’t you hide our home study update?

Of course I did. But don’t forget, there was that one night…

What night? (pauses) Ohhh, that night. But it was only once. We were just messing around. I didn’t print clearly. I didn’t even use ink! (pauses again) But it was kind of fun.

(giggles) It was, wasn’t it? I’ll never forget how cute you looked getting your fingerprints.

So now we’ve got our I-171H, eh? But that doesn’t always mean you’ll adopt, does it? I mean, shouldn’t you see the agency or something, make sure everything’s okay?

I already did.

And?

I’m five documents along.

Five documents! And they’re all notarized, certified and authenticated okay?

Just great. There was one small scare when the agency couldn’t see the notary’s middle initial, but it showed up just fine under the magnifying glass.

Thank God. And you, honey? Are you feeling okay?

I’m feeling fine. As long as I know you’re happy about this.

Happy? I’m thrilled! It’s always a shock at first when something like this happens, but of course I’m happy!

🙂

Leave a Reply

Categories

