Posted by: manyblessings | 08/29/08

Why Foster Care?

We submit our application by mail tomorrow.  Hopefully it will make it to the authorities that be on Tuesday after the holiday weekend.  We have talked about this and prayed about this since May.  I kind of took off the summer in order to do a little research and a little reading.

My answer to the above question:

We have just decided that it’s better to have loved and lost than never to have loved at all. There are so many children who need stability and a family, and if we can give them that even for one night, we will have done our part.

I had a lot of excuses about how I didn’t want to do this, and then we talked about it and prayed about it… and I realized it isn’t about me and how I feel. If that were the case, I wouldn’t have become a parent in the first place, because there are definitely times when–as you know–it is emotionally draining.

I have been telling myself where other things are concerned that Christianity is not about convenience; it’s about service. It’s time to live it, and this is where I feel I can help. I’m excited and nervous, but it’s a good feeling. All of the women I have talked to have said that while it is hard, it is very rewarding.

The book I read last night was by a former teacher; she said something that really resonated with me when she mentioned that she had gone into teaching to touch children and found that she couldn’t really get close to them in a classroom. I felt the exact same way. In fact, when I was in Chicago, I had a hard time because I couldn’t do more for the kids. Now I can. Whereas in Chicago I worked with kids for a few hours and then sent them home to squalor, neglect, and abuse, now I will be working with them away from that life and hoping for a better future for them. I may not be able to do a lot, and I certainly won’t be able to do everything, but it will be something… and for at least the time they are in my care, they won’t live in squalor or be neglected or abused.

That’s why we want to be foster parents.

Leave a Reply

Categories

